[Client] Spectating a Game Updates your Status and Exiting doesn't change it.
This happened twice to me. I was spectating a normal game, I exited, the game. There were two dialog boxes to either exit or reconnect that appeared on the client screen (similar to if you are in a game and you leave it gives the option to reconnect). I clicked exit on the client screen as described in the previous sentence. It went back to the main page, but my status said I was in game.
When I spectated a ranked game, I went through the same process and it said I was in a ranked game.
At that point, I could not accept invites to a game. The problem was fixed by restarting the client.